Preventing Lash Fallout (gasp) when Removing Mascara with Davines Authentic Moisturizing Balm: Oso Review

It’s been a while since the bear last posted about anything. There are actually a slew of restaurant reviews that have yet to be posted, but the bear just wants to take a break from all of the eating.

image

To break the silence in this little brown bear’s blog, some random reviews will be posted as well. Let it be known that aside from eating at random places, the bear also likes to try out random stuff.

You might not be aware of it, but bears can be really vain. The brown bear particularly likes wearing mascara, specifically those that have long-wearing formulas.

Some mascaras can be easily washed off with some soap and warm water. However, the water-soluble types in general have the tendency to melt in the middle of the day.

I almost always reach out for the more water and sweat- proof mascaras because the bear wanders around a lot and I wouldn’t want to have raccoon eyes in the middle of the day… Primarily because I am a bear and not a raccoon.

image

At the end of the day, I would struggle with removing all of the gunk that I have slathered on my lashes. Have you ever experienced losing a couple of lashes in the process of rubbing away your mascara? (nooooo, please grow back). Have you ever tried to remove your eye makeup in a rush to be reinuited with your beloved bed, only to wake up in the morning with the dreaded raccoon eyes?

I have.

My little bear heart shatters whenever an eyelash becomes uprooted, even after I assure myself that they will grow back.

I remembered that a few years back, I saw a YouTube tutorial on how to remove pesky mascara using an old mascara spoolie and a creamy makeup remover.

All that you have to do is to dab a little cream on the spoolie and apply it on the lashes as you would with mascara. Be careful not to poke your eye or apply the cream too closely to the base or you would regret it. You should leave it on for a few minutes and wipe everything off with a cotton pad. Observe:

image

I used an old mascara wand aka a spoolie. Fret not if you have thrown away your old mascara wands because you can buy a spoolie almost anywhere nowadays.

Being a frugal bear, I used to make do with an old moisturizer that I didn’t want to use anymore in an attempt to get something out of a bad investment. It did a great job of removing all traces of eye makeup but it stung like HELL and made my eyes go blurry.

That bad habit ended when I got my paws on a sample of Davines Authentic Moisturizing Balm.

image

It’s supposed to be an all-around wash-off moisturizer for the hair, face, and the body. Here is my experience with the product:

Pros:

-It has a variety of uses.
-It does an excellent job of removing eye makeup, including mascara that would not easily budge.
-It won’t sting if you’re careful enough.

Cons:

-It comes in a hard to squeeze tube.
-I know I have dexterity issues, but the plastic cap can be quite tricky to screw back on.
-Not exactly affordable at P 1,250 (approx. $30) for a 150ml tube, but a little goes a long way and it will certainly last even with everyday use.

Neutral:

-It has a mild flowery scent that I didn’t mind. If it smelled like fish, that would be a problem because I would end up eating it.

I hope I did well in my first ever product review. There are a lot of new posts coming so please bear with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

